News no image

Published on June 8th, 2011 | by Sharilyn Johnson


Canadian Comedy Awards nominations

The CCA noms were announced at Second City this afternoon (no, not this morning, ahem). They are…

Male Standup
Steve Patterson
Mark Forward
Darrin Rose
Tim Steeves
Jeremy Hotz

Female Standup
Heidi Foss
Laurie Elliott
Nikki Payne
DeAnne Smith
Debra DiGiovanni

Standup Newcomer
Rhiannon Archer
Eric Andrews
Matt Carter
Dylan Gott
D.J. Demers

Comedic Play
Something Wicked Awesome This Way Comes…
Phillips & Crown
My Mother’s Lesbian Jewish Wiccan Wedding
Dr. Whom
Pick of the Fringe!

One Person Show
Cancer Can’t Dance Like This
ONEymoon (A Honeymoon for One)
Beer League
NormVsCancer: A Terminally Funny One Man Show

Sketch Troupe
The Second City
Women Fully Clothed
Falcon Powder
Hot Thespian Action

Improv Troupe
Rapid Fire Theatre
Die-Nasty The Live Improvised Soap Opera
The Sunday Service
The National Theatre of the World’s Impromptu Splendor
Urban Improv

Male Improviser
Mark Meer
Jeff Gladstone
Taz VanRassel
Ron Pederson
Ryan Beil

Female Improviser
Ashley Botting
Inessa Frantowski
Caitlin Howden
Sarah Hillier
Mandy Sellars

TV Show
Living In Your Car
This Movie Sucks!
Call Me Fitz
Less Than Kind

Taped Live Performance
Nikki Payne – Ha!ifax Comedy Fest 2010
Chuck Byrn – Ha!ifax Comedy Fest 2010
Tim Steeves – CCA’s 10 Year Anniversary Special
Nick Beaton – Comedy Now
Ron Josol – Ethnical Difficulties

Direction – TV
Sebastian Cluer – Kenny vs Spenny Christmas Special
Henry Sarwer-Foner – Rick Mercer Report
Adam Brodie & Dave Derewlany – Scare Tactics
Brian K. Roberts – The Debaters
James Dunnison – Less Than Kind

Writing – TV Program or Series
Paul Mather – Men with Brooms, Wedding Knells
Tim Mcauliffe, Mark Critch, Cathy Jones, Gavin Crawford, Kyle Tingley, Albert Howell, Dean Jenkinson, Mike Allison, David Kerr, Bob Kerr – 22 Minutes, Episode 5
Ken Finkleman – Good Dog
Sheri Elwood – Call Me Fitz – Episode 101
Graham Clark, Gary Jones, Richard Side, John Wing, Nathan Macintosh, Dave Hemstad, Debra DiGiovanni – ‘The Debaters’

Performance by a Male – TV
Howie Miller – CAUTION: May Contain Nuts
Mark O’Brien – Republic of Doyle
Ennis Esmer – The Listener
Jason Priestley – Call Me Fitz, Episode 106

Performance by a Female – Television
Aimee Beaudoin – CAUTION: May Contain Nuts
Nancy Robertson – Hiccups
Angela Asher – 18 TO LIFE Season 2, ‘Overcooked’
Sitara Hewitt – Little Mosque on the Prairie
Brooke Palsson – Less Than Kind

Best Performance by an Ensemble – Television
Dana Andersen, Matt Alden, Aimée Beaudoin, Sheldon Elter, Jeff Halaby, James Higuchi, Howie Miller, Mark Meer, Ryan Parker – CAUTION: May Contain Nuts
Brendan Gall, Siobhan Murphy, William C. Vaughan, Anand Rajaram, Joel S. Keller, Aliyah O’Brien, Glenda Braganza, Paul Gross – Men with Brooms
James Hartnett, Hannah Hogan, Alana Johnston, Kayla Lorette, Joey Lucius, Alex Spencer, AJ Vaage – That’s So Weird
Fred Ewanuick, Mary Ashton, Paul Bates, Benjamin Ayres, David Ferry – Dan for Mayor, Episode 110
Stacey Farber, Alain Goulem, Angela Asher, Jesse Rath, Kaniehtiio Horn, Ellen David, Arielle Shiri, Peter Keleghan, Michael Seater, Erin Agostino – 18 TO LIFE Season 2 (Episode 1: ‘Family Portrait’)

Best Film
Good Neighbours
Don’t Walk Out That Door

Performance by a Male – Film
Jay Baruchel – Good Neighbours
Tim Doiron – GravyTrain
Jacob Medjuck – Summerhood
Joe Cobden – Peepers
Craig Brown – Don’t Walk Out That Door

Best Performance by a Female – Film
Sandi Ross – Medium Raw: Night of the Wolf
Angela Asher – A Touch of Grey
Maria Del Mar – A Touch of Grey
Janine Theriault – Peepers
Inessa Frantowski – Don’t Walk Out That Door

Direction – Film
Jacob Tierney – Good Neighbours
Jeremy LaLonde – The Untitled Work of Paul Shepard
Jesse Shamata – Break A Leg
Jacob Medjuck – Summerhood
Seth W. Owen – Peepers

Writing – Film
Jacob Medjuck – Summerhood
Jacob Tierney, Good Neighbours
Seth W. Owen, Mark Slutsky, Daniel Perlmutter – Peepers
Simon Fraser, Brian G. Smith – Improvisaton Nation
Tim Doiron – GravyTrain

Radio Program or Clip
The Debaters – Pete Zedlacher & Kristeen Von Hagen: Zombies vs. Vampires
The Irrelevant Show – Episode 1
Kamikaze Komedy
The Debaters – Sean Cullen & Alonzo Bodden: Summer vs Winter Olympics
This Is That

Web Clip
Fresh Talks I Luv All The Special Girl
I Am The Man
Phone Call to an Ex-girlfriend
That Thing That Happened

As always, the standup categories are so evenly matched that it’s a tossup between all the nominees. Excellent choices in the Standup Newcomer category as well. Some new names in both the male and female improvisor categories (hopefully Mandy Sellers’ name will have the correct spelling on the ballot!)

There’s definitely a theme afoot in the One-Person Show category. I guess cancer is the new black. Wait, that came out wrong… anyway…

As a voter, some of these categories present me with some difficult choices! I think I’ll have to go shopping for a dartboard.

The 2011 CCAs will be handed this October, once again in Toronto (there had been plans of doing them in Ottawa this year, which presumably were thwarted). For more info, visit


About the Author

is the author of the book Bears & Balls: The Colbert Report A-Z. Called "one of the city’s most discriminating comedy critics” by NOW Magazine, Sharilyn has been covering comedy for longer than she cares to admit. She served as the comedy reporter for Winnipeg's Uptown Magazine for five years, and was the host of the radio show Laugh Tracks for three seasons. Her work has also appeared in the Toronto Star, the Winnipeg Free Press, The Apiary, and on CBC Radio's national comedy programs LOL and Definitely Not the Opera.

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑
  • The Colbert Report A-Z

    Third Beat editor Sharilyn Johnson presents the ultimate fan guide to The Colbert Report, available from all major booksellers including