News

Published on September 9th, 2009 | by Sharilyn Johnson

1

2009 JFL Comedy Tour lineup/dates

In a lot of Canadian cities, this is the biggest comedy event of the year. Just For Laughs rarely disappoints with their annual fall tour, putting headlining comics into a “gala” type setting in large theatres across the country. As has come to be the standard, the lineup is solid:

Sugar Sammy

Sugar Sammy

Sugar Sammy (host)
Pete Correale
Godfrey
Steve Patterson (Maritimes only)
Danny Bhoy (Maritimes only)
Tommy Tiernan (Ontario & west only)

Pretty great when you consider, for instance, under what other circumstances Godfrey would ever play Saskatoon.

I saw Tiernan on the Tour a few years ago, and wished for a longer set from him (he did about 20-25 minutes, if I recall correctly). It sounds like that wish will come true, as all dates from Hamilton onward feature just 4 names on the bill. Giving him 40+ minutes would be the best decision the JFL folks could make. The man can certainly sprint, but he’s a hundred times better in a marathon.

Tickets (except Toronto) are under $50, available from Ticketmaster. Presales are on now (sorry, I don’t have the password!).

The dates:

Mon-19-Oct
St. John’s, NL
Arts & Culture Centre

Tues-20-Oct
Glace Bay, NS
Savoy Theatre

Thurs-22-Oct
Moncton, NB
Capitol Theatre

Fri-23-Oct
Charlottetown, PEI
Confederation Centre for the Arts

Sat-24-Oct
Halifax, NS
Rebecca Cohn Auditorium – Dalhousie Arts Centre

Sun-25-Oct
Saint John, NB
Imperial Theatre

Wed-28-Oct
Hamilton, ON
Hamilton Place

Thurs-29-Oct
Toronto, ON
Massey Hall

Fri-30-Oct
Ottawa, ON
National Arts Centre

Sun-01-Nov
London, ON
Centennial Hall

Tues-03-Nov
Winnipeg, MB
Centennial Concert Hall

Wed-04-Nov
Regina, SK
Conexus Arts Centre

Thu-05-Nov
Saskatoon, SK
TCU Place

Fri-06-Nov
Calgary, AB
Stampede Corral

Sun-08-Nov
Edmonton, AB
Winspear Centre

Tues-10-Nov
Red Deer, AB
Memorial Centre

Thurs-12-Nov
Surrey, BC
Bell Performing Arts Centre

Fri-13-Nov
Victoria, BC
McPherson Theatre

Sat-14-Nov
Vancouver, BC
The Centre in Vancouver for Performing Arts

Sun-15-Nov
Kelowna, BC
Kelowna Community Theatre

Tags: , , , , , ,


About the Author

is the author of the book Bears & Balls: The Colbert Report A-Z. Called "one of the city’s most discriminating comedy critics” by NOW Magazine, Sharilyn has been covering comedy for longer than she cares to admit. She served as the comedy reporter for Winnipeg's Uptown Magazine for five years, and was the host of the radio show Laugh Tracks for three seasons. Her work has also appeared in the Toronto Star, the Winnipeg Free Press, The Apiary, and on CBC Radio's national comedy programs LOL and Definitely Not the Opera.



One Response to 2009 JFL Comedy Tour lineup/dates

  1. Pingback: Cheech & Chong Interview with Avi the TV Geek | Geek or Unique

Back to Top ↑